10 Aged Articles Which Need a Comeback

Saint Valentines’ Day is here! The old art of romance had my nostalgic soul wondering why is it the world got too modern for these little things. Well, the western world’s fashions and trends are often cyclical so here are 10 old things the world should make new again:

1. Post Cards
You know the cards with picturesque landscapes showing off exotic destinations? They’re always on display in local bookshops and souvenir stores. Well, I’ve never received a post card. Ever. These quaint little stationeries are the most thoughtful way to brag about your trips (next to souvenir T-shirts 😊) and make for excellent collections and conversations.

2. Greeting Cards

20170211_164028_wm
Birthdays, weddings, graduations, consolation, congratulation, get well soon, apologies. There are reasons all year round to send a card to the ones you love most. I have all the cards I’ve ever received in my life tucked away neatly. Why? The messages written in them are hearfelt and remind me that I have love and people who care about me in my life. Cards bring me back to happier places and younger times. Every time you reread a stack of greeting cards you’ll notice something new which you overlooked before. P.S. Mommy, I eagerly await my next birthday card. Don’t stop this tradition.😙

3. Even better, handmade gifts
Yes, this includes handmade greeting cards. Buy fancy paper, felt tip pens, and you’re good to go. If you have skills or more time to look up videos and infographics, you can get creative with origami, storage containers, handwritten coffee mugs, jewelry, mats and the list is endless.

4. Photographs, in print
Selfies and social media have ruined photography. When last have you printed a photo you took? One bad virus or a social media glitch and many of our memories over the last 10 years are zilch. Indeed your photos can be ruined by the elements and disasters, but holding a tangible photo or picture album and running your fingertips over the faces of loved ones sure beats staring at a digital photo in the dark till the glare burns your eyes.

5. Books in print

20170211_163740_wm
There are just some things with which I’ll never fall out of love. Those are turning the pages of a new book with anticipation, the smell of the pages and being curled up in bed, book in hand with satisfaction.

6. Diaries/ Journals

20170211_193454_wm
Do young girls still keep these things? 🤔 I’ll encourage my future children to keep one. Notice I said children. Both my son and daughter. There’s something to be said about men who write and are comfortable with self expression. 😍😍😍 In a frigid world where it can be difficult to find someone in which to confide and understand your every feeling, a journal is a judgement-free haven. I promise not to snoop.

7. Board Games
Jamaica isn’t so bad when it comes to this one. Dominoes are still the national board game and you don’t have to look too far to see (or better yet, HEAR 🙉🙉🙉) four yaadie a match some domino! Nonetheless, I’m tired of social outings with friends who look at me funny when I want to play Snakes and Ladders, Ludo and Scrabble over the latest tablet games. I’d play with my brother but he still takes losses too seriously. . . . .

8. Jump Rope, Hula Hoop and Hopscotch
Veering from the paper world a bit, I must bring up these semi-retired athletic past times of mine. I don’t even know how to caption this except to say I’m happy that my nine year brother knows what these things are. It warmed my heart.

9. Maps
Back to paper. Ok fine, Google Maps is easier than unfolding a huge sheet of paper in your lap and trying to pencil in your route. But bear with me. In the planning stages of a trip, isn’t it thrilling to lie on the floor and pour over a map and the landmarks near to where you’re headed? You can make little scribbles, get a ‘feel’ of where you’re going then refer to it later to keep memories of the trip.

10. Love letters

20170211_193417_wm
I couldn’t not mention these on February 14. Unlike texts these cannot get deleted unless you throw them away, and a letter allows you to use more than your visual sense. Holding the paper uses tactile sense. If the stationery is scented, you use olfactory. You get to store these up somewhere, pull them out over the years and fall in love again.

One thought on “10 Aged Articles Which Need a Comeback

Leave a Reply

